X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Officer or Warrant officer

I am currently a freshman in college, and I'm interested in becoming a WO or commissioned Officer in the SC ARNG. I know I don't get to choose my MOS like enlisted soldiers, but I am mainly interested in Armor, Aviation or Combat Engineer. However, I am not positive if SC has all of these MOS options, but I think they might (218th Maneuver Enhancement Brigade, 122nd Engineer Company, and 59th Aviation Troop Command). I just have several questions about becoming an officer in one of these MOSs. I also plan to pursue a civilian career or go to Med school, would this lessen my chances?

Time requirements for training? (BCT, OCS/WOCS, BOLC)

What are these jobs like on drill weekends?

Do they require a lot of time besides the 1 weekend & 2 weeks a year?

What are the chances of going to hi-speed schools? (AA, Airborne, Sapper, Pre-Ranger)

Does anyone know the re****tion of the SC ARNG?

Thanks for your replies!

Re: Officer or Warrant officer

Start by searching the forums, I think you'll find some interesting threads (recent) on time commitment for officers. SC has all three of the MOS you mention, with maybe the exception of Armor. There are still tanks staged at MTC, so there are probably still armor units in the state.

Time requirements - BOLC varies based on MOS, and OCS varies based on whether or not you go accelerated or traditional through the state. Someone else can give you more specific dates on BCT/OCS. Since you're in college, have you considered ROTC?

What are these jobs like on drill - it depends on what training is being done. You could be doing paper work and taking inventories of stuff at the armory, or on a range/ftx/stx.

Time outside of drill - Yes; reference the other threads in this forum.

High Speed Schools? Lol...not happening in SC with the current budget situation.