Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nurse Corps

Hello,
    I am a 29 year old female and I am contemplating joining the NJ National Guard. I have a Bachelor's in Psych and just acquired an Associates Degree in Nursing. I will take my NCLEX examination at the end of this month which will make me a licensed Registered Nurse. I briefly spoke with a recruiter over the phone ( tomorrow I will speak with him in person), who told me what path I should take. He said that I will first do the Basic Training and then I am eligible to go to OCS. I was wondering if after OCS if I will be able to get into the Nurse Corps. I looked at the eligibility and it seems as though I qualify to become a Nurse in the NG but I need to have the anticipated path clearly defined before I join.

Originally posted by cf908 View Post
    Hello,
    I am a 29 year old female and I am contemplating joining the NJ National Guard. I have a Bachelor's in Psych and just acquired an Associates Degree in Nursing. I will take my NCLEX examination at the end of this month which will make me a licensed Registered Nurse. I briefly spoke with a recruiter over the phone ( tomorrow I will speak with him in person), who told me what path I should take. He said that I will first do the Basic Training and then I am eligible to go to OCS. I was wondering if after OCS if I will be able to get into the Nurse Corps. I looked at the eligibility and it seems as though I qualify to become a Nurse in the NG but I need to have the anticipated path clearly defined before I join.
    Your recruiter is blowing smoke. If you are pursuing the nurse corps it is a direct commission. That means no basic, no OCS. You need to be talking to an Officer or AMEDD recruiter. A regular recruiter is going to do nothing but try and enlist you first because he needs a warm body to boost his numbers. Call a recruiter back, and be stern by asking for Officer or AMEDD point of contact for New Jersey.