Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Lesson learned...Don't wait to go after what you want in life. Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lesson learned...Don't wait to go after what you want in life.

Its a shame...to finally reach that point in life, which your dreams don't require approval by "majority vote," only to find out you waited too long. You're "too old".

I'm 44, single, and my children are grown and no longer living at home.

I have a Masters Degrees in Nursing; a board certified Nurse Practitioner in both Adult and Gerontological health.

I'm also a 2nd degree Black Belt, still actively training and competing. I qualified to be a member of Team USA in 2012, and competed in the ITF World Championships in Canada, winning a Silver medal in my bracket.

Although I've always given 100% to the commitments I've made; my decision to commit to something was heavily influenced by those in my life who would be most affected.

I can proudly and honestly say...I fulfilled my family "duties". No longer will my dreams be hindered by external influence...setting goals will no longer be placed on the "back burner". What I achieve, will be totally up to me...(but limited by age restrictions.)

So I offer some words of advice...Do what you love and love what you do. Don't procrastinate. Compromise is essential...but don't ever chip away pieces of who you are, to make a relationship "fit". Associate with those who respect your dreams, encourage your goals and complement who you are and where you want to be in the future.

Though Im too old for the National Guard, watch for me in 2014 as I aspire to qualify for Team USA and compete in the next World Championships in Rome, Italy.

Re: Lesson learned...Don't wait to go after what you want in life.