X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rank Determination

I am currently a civilian Physician Assistant and am in the process of finishing my application to the ANG. I have no prior military experience, but was wondering how my rank will be determined. I have 20 months experience as a full time PA in Family Practice, and 17 months part-time in Orthopedics.

Re: Rank Determination

What's your educational background?

Comment

Originally posted by bai78 View Post
      What's your educational background?
      Explain how thats relevant (im not being sarcastic). He is a physician assistant...they all direct commiss in my expereience.

Comment

Originally posted by Mr.Incognito View Post
        Explain how thats relevant (im not being sarcastic). He is a physician assistant...they all direct commiss in my expereience.
        Well, there are physician assistants... and then there are physician assistants.

Comment

Originally posted by Mr.Incognito View Post
          Grade of appointment for direct commission special branches (i.e., AMEDD, JAG, and Chaplain) are based on educational level and experience. A PA could have some additional advanced degrees, although the years of experience in the field have influence as well.

The applicant's AMEDD recruiter can show you the process on grade determination from NGR 600-100 and AR 135-100, as well as any current policy updates.

Comment

Originally posted by Polo08816 View Post
            Well, there are physician assistants... and then there are physician assistants.
            +1. I have given myself better diagnosis than some. Anyway, it's 5am and off to PT formation.

Comment

Probably O2 or O3, 1LT or CPT. It's only 30 months from 1LT to CPT so it's no biggie.

Comment

I commissioned in the Guard last October as a 1LT. I have 5 years experience as a practicing PA specializing in neurosurgery. I have 7 years prior active duty. My guess is you'll come in as a 1LT also.