Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nursing in the Guard?

Hello,

I'm currently a 1LT QM officer, working as my BN's transportation officer in Kuwait.

While I branched QM through my ROTC program, I also received my 4 year BSN (Nursing degree).

I've been contemplating putting my nursing degree to use and doing a branch transfer into the Nursing Corp.

Would anyone have any experience with the Nurse Corp? I live in Pennsylvania...would anyone know if it's feasible to become a Nurse Officer in the Guard?

The reasoning behind my branching QM, after 9 years prior enlisted service, was 1) to be assigned to a unit near my home, for geographical reasons related to travel and 2) Because my understanding was that you can't really do nursing in the Guard. Is this true?

I really appreciate any help/insight anyone can provide....

Re: Nursing in the Guard?

Originally posted by x3xsolxdierx3x View Post
    Hello,

I'm currently a 1LT QM officer, working as my BN's transportation officer in Kuwait.

While I branched QM through my ROTC program, I also received my 4 year BSN (Nursing degree).

I've been contemplating putting my nursing degree to use and doing a branch transfer into the Nursing Corp.

Would anyone have any experience with the Nurse Corp? I live in Pennsylvania...would anyone know if it's feasible to become a Nurse Officer in the Guard?

The reasoning behind my branching QM, after 9 years prior enlisted service, was 1) to be assigned to a unit near my home, for geographical reasons related to travel and 2) Because my understanding was that you can't really do nursing in the Guard. Is this true?

I really appreciate any help/insight anyone can provide....
    There's an AMEDD officer on the forums by the name of rat4spd. I believe he can answer your questions.

I've seen Nurses in the MEDCOM in my state.

Comment