X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about OCS, SF, Ranger School, Airborne

I'm currently 30 years old, in excellent health, with no prior service and I've decided that I want to serve in the National Guard. (Presently I live in SC but I'm willing and able to relocate, more on that in a moment). I've chosen the Guard because I am a business owner so I'd prefer not to go in full-time, though I have no problem being away for months at a time for training and/or deployments. That being said I have a few questions. First, how difficult is it to get into OCS? I will soon have the 90 credits required, but I've been hearing various reports about the competitiveness of getting in and I'm curious what the current needs are like. For example will I be able to get in with 90 credits or will I have to complete my degree first?

My second question is about the special schools such as Ranger, Airborne, and SF. If I do this then I really want a chance to go to these schools and I'm willing to put out 100% to do it. I've been doing a ton of reading and research on the subject and it seems like your chances of going depend greatly on what state you live in. I'd actually be willing to relocate myself if that was what I needed in order to be able to get in. I've also read that Airborne can be put into your contract but Ranger and SF can not. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

-The Mentor
    Last edited by TheMentor; February 24th, 2014, 02:49 AM.

Your questions have been asked by others many many times before. Please search through the forums for the answers to the questions.

Comment

Sorry, I should have mentioned that I've been reading the forums for the past few weeks, including a number of helpful posts by yourself, SF Hunter.

That said, I'm still looking for straight answers on a few things, but let me be more specific.