Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seeking an Aviation Career: Need advice please

~~~~Situation:
    I served 4+ years as an Infantryman in the Army. I honorably transitioned out of the military OCT/2012 as an E-5, due to personal/family issues. After being involved in numerous combat and training missions involving aviation support, I knew that I wanted to become an aviator.
    I have my bachelor's degree, and am seeking advice on the best way to become an aviator in the National Guard?
    Here are my concerns:
    1. I know at this time I wouldn't be able to pass a flight I physical, I have 20/40 uncorrected vision.
    2. I also don't know any commissioned or warrant aviators to get a LOR.
    3. I also don't have enough TIG as an E-5 to have received 5 NCOERs.
    I am 28 and I know the cut off age is 33 and with the all the downsizing I would just like to know if this goal is realistic or just a shot in the dark?
    If it is possible, then what is the best way to go about achieving this goal?
    I am considering Warrant or Commissioned but am in need of advice as to the best route to meet my goal?
    I have been in contact with a Warrant Strength Manager and his advice is to enlist in a Aviation MOS since the California Guard is over strength on Aviators, but again I am strongly considering the Commission side?
    I understand the term over strength but also know that it will take me time to get my vision corrected and establish a relationship with a aviator in order to get a LOR? So I guess my follow on question would it be better to enlist in an aviation MOS or try to commission and try to go aviation after I have meet all the qualifications?
    Thank you in advance?

Originally posted by mktwise View Post
    ~~~~Situation: