Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

can BCT be delayed because of health reasons?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• can BCT be delayed because of health reasons?

Hello everyone, first of all my question crosses several aspects of the Guard and this forum, so I apologize if it is more suitable in another forum. Anyways, I've been very interested in ROTC, I'm a current college sophomore and my ideal plan is to enlist asap, pick a ship date either after this semester or during next summer, and attend RSP until my ship date (or so says my recruiter, whom I spoke with last year). Long story short, my issue is that I get occasional bouts of rough nausea which I now believe to be caused by lactose intolerance. This is a tricky thing than I struggle with but I believe I am making progress in figuring out what upsets me.

I am very eager to move forward with the program, first to secure my spot and scholarship with ROTC, but also because I am very excited about starting my Guard career. I'm just very nervous that this issue won't be resolved and I would not want to ship out to basic with the risk of having an episode. I'm not looking for an "escape route" or anything in case I change my mind about the Guard, because this is something I am very passionate about, but I'd rather delay my training or back out here if necesary or than at BCT where everyone would suffer because of my problem.

I know there isn't a great solution to this situation but I was wondering if anyone had any advice to offer or experience that could help me. Otherwise I guess I'll just wait this out and hope that things improve and there is still room for me come next spring. Thanks alot.

Re: can BCT be delayed because of health reasons?

What you want to accomplish is fuzzy, the way you describe it.