Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need any advice or help losing weight? Here is my experience on losing 100+ pounds

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need any advice or help losing weight? Here is my experience on losing 100+ pounds

Hi!

I see many people on this forum asking for help in ways to lose weight. I just wanted to offer my story and leave it an open forum to let anyone ask any questions.
    So my background.. I did JROTC for 4 years in high school and I every plan on joining the Navy when I graduated. However, there was one not so small problem.. I was overweight. I needed to be 170 or under and I was 215. I gave up on this idea and continued working instead.

However 2.5 years ago I tore my Achilles because I was overweight and had to undergo a lot of rehab and spent thousands of dollars in medical fees. In this time, I had ballooned up to 265 pound. Then I also had to be my friends maid of honor in her wedding. In this time I was appalled because I couldn’t get the same dress as the other bridesmaids and I looked so huge in all of the wedding photos. This was my turning point! My Aw ha moment when I was like “im sorry I ruined your wedding photos!”

I then decided I did not spend all this time doing rehab and paying for all its costs to sit on the couch. I wanted to turn my set back into a comeback. It took me a year and half but I have lost 103 lbs and am now shipping to basic may 2013.

Some key things that helped me:

• Motivation – I made it a point to tell everyone! And I mean EVERYONE! I spammed my goals, ideas, triumphs, and even my failures to my friends and all face book to hold me accountable. (plus they cheer you on and console you when you mess up, no one is perfect) basically the memes saying you don’t need to post every time you go to the gym on fb was invented for me