X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Eye exam; Failed PIP, Passed FALANT

I went to MEPS last week and during the eye exam, I failed the PIP test (circle of dots, say the number) But i passed the FALANT with 100%. When i had my eye exam at my regular eye doc about 2-3 weeks ago, I had him give me a color blind test, he gave me the PIP test, and said i passed and i was good to go. So when i went to swear in, i was unable to get my MOS (12M - Firefighter) due to being colorblind. I have been a Full time Firefighter for 5 years (no issues). On my physical exam at MEPS, under the eye exam section it says "Red/Green; PASS" and when the doctor signed me out, he game me all '1's for every category, even eyes.... so i'm just confused. If my form said i PASSED the red/green, shouldn't i be good to go? Could this possibly be a human error when entering the information into the computer? I can see colors, and i have never had any issues with red and green. I really want to be a 12M in the guard.

Re: Eye exam; Failed PIP, Passed FALANT

To clarify, according to the MEPS forms/documents, you PASSED the color blind test, and yet you are not allowed to be 12M because of color blindness? Is that what you are saying?

Comment

Yes, that's what i understand. On the MEPS form, there is a box in the vision section that says "red/greed " (may not be the exact words, but thats basically how its worded) and it said PASS.... so i would assume thats what it means... He said i passed the red/green test and wrote PASS down on the form. To be a 12M you have to have normal vision, you can not be red green deficient.
      Last edited by TAHealey; January 31st, 2013, 10:41 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by TAHealey View Post