X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1st APFT

I'm a former Marine that's gonna be hopefully going in to the guard in the next couple months. At what point would I have to run the PFT? I'm not going through MEPS just a med center here, from what I understand. Just curious so I can shave some time off my run.

Re: 1st APFT

Could be your first day in the unit, you would have to call your Readiness NCO (not your recruiter...just making that clear).

Assuming you're 25, you have 16:36 to run 2 miles and as a former Marine, you should be able to jog that.

Comment

Oh goodness.....I was 25 ten years ago. But I'm a cop now so not completely out of shape. I am sure I can pass it but I'd be ashamed to go in there and get the lowest score!

Comment

You got 17:42 to run it in. More importantly is, do you know the requirements to pass each event? If you fail one event, you fail them all. We do sit-ups (break the plane) with hands behind the head, interlocked. You need a minimum of 60 points to pass each event.

http://www.apft-standards.com/

Comment

Appreciate it.

Comment

Yea, no 3 mile runs or pullups to worry about......

It seems you'll be just fine! It never hurts to do some individual testing events on your own to get a baseline.

Comment

Originally posted by jarhead2ng View Post
              Oh goodness.....I was 25 ten years ago. But I'm a cop now so not completely out of shape. I am sure I can pass it but I'd be ashamed to go in there and get the lowest score!
              Relax. I knew former Marines that failed the Army APFT because, 1) Like you, that has not been PTing for a while; go too hard out and burn themselves out and 2) Pace the two mile as the three mile and fail. My buddy did in 2004 and he was like "oh s^&*, this is embarrassing" but then after he ran a couple of days pacing it properly, was running it in 14 and 15 minute times and he was in his early 30s at the time.

Comment