Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does the military pay for my flight home from AIT?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does the military pay for my flight home from AIT?

After graduation from AIT I will be flying from Fort Meade, Maryland back home to Ohio. Will the military pay for my flight or do I have to pay out of pocket for it. Also on the flight home do I wear ACU or civilian clothes?

Re: Does the military pay for my flight home from AIT?

Originally posted by Mckee12 View Post
    After graduation from AIT I will be flying from Fort Meade, Maryland back home to Ohio. Will the military pay for my flight or do I have to pay out of pocket for it. Also on the flight home do I wear ACU or civilian clothes?
    They will get you back to where you came from on their dime. Not sure on the attire.

Comment

Yes, they pay the fare. When I graduated in the 80s, I had to wear my Class Bs (and the cute garrison cap) on the way home. It was nice enjoying the USO at Lambert Field.

Comment

Yes they pay. ACU's.

Comment

Originally posted by Mckee12 View Post
          Not only do you not pay out of pocket for transportation, they also give you a food voucher to eat at the airport in case there's a layover.

Be ready for whatever. It's not always as cut and dry as graduating from AIT, then hopping the plane home.

Some people have had to hit the airport right after graduation in their dress blues. Some people have had to wait days--even weeks before they flew home. And that sucks because depending on where you are you may be required to continue to come to all formations and do PT with the rest of the company until the day you leave.