X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 33+ and thinking about NG 68W

Hey everyone, I wanted to get a more updated opinion from those who may have walked in my same shoes within the last year. I'm a 33 year old female looking to join the NG and hopefully get the 68W MOS. I'm still at the very beginning here, have not taken ASVAB or anything yet. My background is in medical, though not the typical, as I've been a working Massage Therapist for the past 5 years. The program I went through was at a community college and very heavy on the human anatomy, medical terminology side of things so I'm not too worried about that portion of the 68W. I'll be (finally) finishing up my BA this summer, though it has nothing to do with the medical field (Military History), so I'm still more than familiar enough to know what good study habits are.

I guess my question lies in the NREMT portion of the training. From what I've read most people who have been through this AIT highly recommend trying to get your NREMT prior to shipping off so you can skip that portion of the training. My only problem with this is I currently work, and run my own business, and attend school full time, at least through the summer, so taking on an additional certification class may be pushing it. In my opinion it might be better for me to just wait and do it as part of AIT so I'm not worrying about school, work and family responsibilities like I do now; however, I'm also reading a lot of reports that there is not a lot of study time involved because of all the PT/extra stuff they are having you do.