X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Military/civilian Pilots

To those that are currently pilots (reserve status), what are your civilian jobs? Are you a pilot? If so, what do you do; police, platform, pipeline, aerial photography?

Is there a great need for civilian pilots (are there jobs available)? Particularly in the gulf coast: Houston, Austin, San Antonio areas.

Coming out of flight school, is this enough training to be qualified for these types of pilot positions? If not, what else would need to be done?

Thank you for your time!

Re: Military/civilian Pilots

I'm not a military pilot, but I am a civilian pilot (just got my IFR ticket 2 weeks ago and 18 hours away from my commercial license). The Gulf Coast is one of the largest employers of rotary wing pilots in the country with companies like PHI, Air Log, Era, etc. that fly in support of off-shore oil and gas operations. The job market slowed down quite a bit for entry-level positions over the past year or so, but things seem to be looking up somewhat now. 3 instructors from my school just got hired to fly tours in NYC, and another 2 instructors just went to Temsco in Alaska.

EDIT: Also, regarding the Gulf positions, most of them are a 7/7 or 14/14 schedule, so it doesn't necessarially matter where you live. A former instructor from my school lives in Connecticut but flies S-92's for PHI on a 14/14 schedule down in the Gulf. He lives in company housing when he's on his hitch.
    Last edited by 0844; March 29th, 2010, 06:23 PM.

Comment

First, we already talked offline, so feel free to call me with more specific questions & come by & see us... now for the more brutally honest part.

Second, NO. Most army guard/reserve pilots do not work as pilots on the civilian side. None that I can think of right now in my unit.