X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GED Plus Program?

I apologize for the long story in advance. Right now I'm 23 years old, I'm working for a martial art school as an instructor, I'm in good shape, and I'm ready to finally do something with my life that will make me feel like more of a man and independent.

My situation right now is that I was basically screwed over by my parents in school. They home schooled me, but only had me learn from text books, because they were always working. So I haven't exactly had your traditional teacher and student education. So such subjects as mathematics, and everything I've had to learn for myself. Math is really the only thing I need work on though.

But with that said, I do not have my HSD (highschool diploma) or GED. I've been going to a community college that's been helping me with my skills in math. So my question is, given my situation, is the GED Plus Program something for me?
    Because right now if I were to get my GED, then earn enough college credits equivalent to a HSD (15 credits I believe), I'd be able to join. Problem with that is that I'll be 25 or 26, and that's getting a little old? And it's difficult to afford college right now.

But anyway, feel free to tell me I'm s*** outta luck if need be haha. This is just something I'm exploring right now. But if it's a realistic option, I'd jump into it. I would love the opportunity to serve my country, and not be denied just because of crappy past situations that were out of my control as a child.

Thanks for your time!

Jake

Re: GED Plus Program?

Originally posted by JakeTKD
    Problem with that is that I'll be 25 or 26, and that's getting a little old?
    You'll find that there are more than a few people here that were that age if not older when they joined. I'm hopefully joining soon and I'll be 26 in April.

Good luck.

Comment

Originally posted by mheathershaw