Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So... what happens if you fail the APFT?

My first drill is this weekend, and my commanding officer has indicated that, since the make-up PT test for the unit is this weekend I might as well go ahead and take it. I'm a direct commissioned officer (JAG), so I haven't done boot camp or any training of any sort. This month, I have worked in the civilian world from 0600 to 2200 nearly every single day, so there's been almost no time for PT at all. I've run four or five times and done the pushups and situps twice. Needless to say, I am OUT of shape, and probably will not pass the PT test this weekend.

What happens then?

Re: So... what happens if you fail the APFT?

You'll get flagged, take a hit on your OER, and take a dressing down from the "old man"! You need to make an honest effort and start an active PT program. Start out slow with 30 mins a day. Run for 20 mins and do some resistance training for 10 mins.

Just because you are a DC officer (JAG)...Soldiers still look up to you. You need to lead by example. Quit making excuses and get off your duff and make it happen!

Don't sell yourself short. I'm sure even if your out of shape you can get 180 and pass the APFT. Give it your all and then once you pass start working on it. Good luck if all fails...pull a private move and go on PROFILE!

Comment

30 minutes a day would be great... except I don't have 30 minutes this month. I think I may be able to eke out a 180 maybe. Working three jobs and fathering two children under the age of 2 keeps me from being a total slob physically, but it in no way makes me able to run 2 miles in under 17 minutes or do 39 pushups. This was NOT a good month for a surprise PT test, civilian work wise.

Hopefully I pass the test (and then pass out and spend the rest of drill in the hospital), and it won't matter what the consequences of failing are. :-)

Comment