X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ACU Questions

I am a newly commissioned 2LT as a Chaplain Candidate in the MS ARNG. I recently went to purchase my first set of ACU's and was a bit overwhelmed. The pants, coat, and patrol cap were easy to select other items such as socks and undershirts had too many options. What are your recommendations for socks and undershirts? Are the higher dollar socks (like Under Armour) really that much better? And are the moisture control shirts really that much better than just a plain cotton undershirt?

I'm totally new to the ARNG and would appreciate any and all help or advice. Thanks in advance.

Re: ACU Questions

IMHO yes, but it really depends on your mission. If you are going to be desk bound, why spend the money. If you are going to be working outside in the MS heat they are well worth it.

Comment

Spend the extra money on thick socks lined with silver. Mine have lasted 2 years, although I haven't used them in boots for a while. They keep feet cushioned and cool during the summer and warm in the winter. And there is virtually no odor.

Comment

In my opinion, shirts are shirts. all the t-shirts are some sort of moisture wicking now, so that doesn't really matter. However, YES YES YES spend the money on socks. As everyone else on this site knows, your feet are your moneymaker in the military. You better spend the money on socks and some after market boots to make sure you keep blisters and hot spots to a minimum.

Comment

The 3 pair of socks that are "army issue" come in sizes SMALL, MEDIUM, LARGE, XLARGE (i think that high).

I always get the small size because what is the point of having the socks go all the way up to your knees!? Too hot for me. Small leave me about 3 inches above my boot anyways.

Comment

Originally posted by Teuvil
            The 3 pair of socks that are "army issue" come in sizes SMALL, MEDIUM, LARGE, XLARGE (i think that high).