X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What You Need To Hear

I graduated on the 21st of August, 2009. Those of you shipping to Ft. Jackson soon will have to get used to a lot of heat and even more humidity.

Get used to sweating A LOT. Even when you're not doing anything you'll be sweating, and your eyebrows will eventually fail and sweat will get into your eyes. Remember: attitude is everything. With the right mindset, you can do ANYTHING.

Before you go, encourage as many family and friends to write you as possible. Phone calls will be scarce, and every letter will help you stay motivated. Get used to not having your cell phone/iPod, drinking gatorades/sodas, or eating anything you want to for a long time. Even if you find yourself in a laid back easy Company, it's always better to hope for the best but prepare for the worst.

Pay attention and remember at all times where you are. BCT IS NOT summer camp, there are rules, and major consequences for breaking the rules. DONT EVER fall asleep on Fireguard, NEVER go ANYWHERE without your weapon, do what you are told to do.

In BCT you'll have assigned squad leaders and a PG in charge of the Platoon. You're either going to love or hate these people. Whichever one it is, don't make their job harder than it already is, even if they SUCK at it. Help them as much as you can (mainly just doing what you're told and doing the right thing) and don't give them any grief.

In BRM, listen very carefully to what you are told so that you, your battle buddies, and your Company Cadre don't get shot or killed. Remember that you're firing real weapons, with real rounds that KILL. Be careful.