Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

3 months and counting.......still trying to enlist...

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3 months and counting.......still trying to enlist...

I met my recruiter in early August and was just hoping for an easy breezy but things have been a bit complicated for my situation. So I'm from Texas and was just visiting my brother in West Virginia and then I decided to give the National Guard a try. It took me a couple of weeks to try and obtain my high school diploma from my hometown cause they kept sending in blank transcripts until my recruiter called them up himself and finally got the right ones sent to him.

I'm a permanent resident so I had to deal with Department Homeland Security and try to get my immigrant status verified. That took another 2-3 weeks. I was given the run around through this time until he finally got someone to fax him the verification papers. So now I'm ready to go to MEPS....on my first trip there I pass everything in physical eval except for the fact that I failed the hearing test twice. They told me to come back the following week for a second time to meet with an Ear, nose and throat doctor to find out what's wrong. The doc said that I had an ear infection, and blockage and that I needed it taken cared of first and a get a written ok note from a doctor before I can continue processing. So he writes me an ear drop antibiotic. Then the following Sunday my recruiter takes me to an A-MED armory to get my ears checked out by an Army LTC. and he said I had a sinus infection and will not write me a note. I don't have any medical insurance and the quickest way for me to get this taken cared of is through the emergency room however I do not want any high medical bills in my name.