Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SLRP Question..I know that again

Hello,

I am a 26 y/o male. I am currently a police officer and would like to join the military. I am leaning towards the Army National Guard (enlisted) or Active OCS. My motivation other then wanting to serve my country is to take advantage of the student loan repayment program. I currently have over 40k in student loans.

I have two questions:

1.) If I do enlist in the National Guard, what is the maximum allotment I will be granted for my student loans? I understand the amount has been increased to 50k. However, what are the criteria for being awarded that amount, other than being enlisted for one year etc and in an over/under strength unit. The reason why I am asking is that I would like to get these loans paid and I would like to enlist as an MP. I know it depends on unit strength however, I wasn’t sure if my recruiter could possibly pull some strings.

2.) For OCS, the SLRP covers all student loans whether they originated from a private bank, such as Sally Mae or a federal loan etc. As long as you have a promissory note and that it is classified as a student loan, it will be paid under SLRP 33% per year over the course of a 3 year enlistment. I read on here, that only federally supplied loans will be covered under SLPR. How is this possible? A majority of my student loans are from private lenders.

Thank you for your assistance.

Re: SLRP Question..I know that again

1. The loans have to be in good standing, and through a federal lender. It does not cover any accrued interest, and if the loans go into default at any time you can lose the benefit. 50k is the max.