X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Going to School While Deployed?

How does school work while being deployed? I'm pretty sure the mission comes first. Are the classes slower paced or self paced? How much time would a soldier get for school while deployed? I'm an Intel Analyst and I have my first deployment with the NG coming up shortly, thanks.

Re: Going to School While Deployed?

Originally posted by udamonsta
    How does school work while being deployed? I'm pretty sure the mission comes first. Are the classes slower paced or self paced? How much time would a soldier get for school while deployed? I'm an Intel Analyst and I have my first deployment with the NG coming up shortly, thanks.
    Depending on the school, your professors should understand if you are late with assignments. Most military-friendly schools have forgiving withdrawal policies if you get too far behind.

I'm currently "deployed" in GTMO and am able to comfortably take two eight-week graduate-level classes at a time. I had three going for a month and it was tricky. Of course, when I say "comfortably" I mean that all I do is work, work out and do school work. When I had a busy week and couldn't do any homework, my professors let me make it up - one said "take your time" and the other said "no penalty this time, but next time it'll be double" (since I didn't follow his explicit policy on how to request an extension).

My job is different than others, so I have ample time. A lot of other people in my unit would probably struggle given their more hectic work schedules. I'd consider my case to be a best case scenario for the upper limit of classes.

FYI: My degree is M.A. International Relations from American Military University and I plan on completing 24 credits while here. Not bad - better to be busy than bored in GTMO... or in trouble, like every other person taking advantage of the only OIF/OEF deployment where alcohol is authorized.

Comment