X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hand to hand Combat in BCT?

I was just curious what topics are covered, and how extensive is the training?

A buddy of mine in the Marines did a system that gave out belts what does the Army Do?

And how do you continue your training after BCT?

Ive been doing Martial Arts for many years and might want to study something very specific to the BCT combat for a few months so I can come in ahead. Any advice?

[QUOTE=SeanR87]I was just curious what topics are covered, and how extensive is the training?

A buddy of mine in the Marines did a system that gave out belts what does the Army Do?

And how do you continue your training after BCT?

Ive been doing Martial Arts for many years and might want to study something very specific to the BCT combat for a few months so I can come in ahead. Any advice?[/QUOTE]

For post-BCT combatives information, this is a comprehensive outline: [url]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_Army_Combatives_School[/url]

Per ATRRS ([url]https://atrrs.army.mil/atrrscc/)[/url], I found that my state offers the one-week Combatives I class twice per year, so check out yours.

Comment

Excellent link. Wikipedia did a good job on that information. OP, you can request to go to the level I and level II training and end up being the main POC/Instructor for your unit. I dont know if the NG in your state has a state-sponsored combatives site for training but many NG soldiers said they have taken part in it during drill. Your recruiter should have more specifics.

Comment

Bootcamp touches upon it very briefly. However, there are several programs (many of them hosted by Marines) that can give you a lot deeper training. (post bootcamp)

Comment

remember when that ridiculous chop and kick stuff used to be taught? I can barely remember...but do recall it was stupid

Comment