X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Army National Guard Officer OCS & Direct Commission Question

[FONT="Georgia"][SIZE="3"]Hello everyone, first time poster here on the National Guard forums. I have a question about my particular situation. I am a university graduate with a Bachelor's Degree in Political Science and History with a minor in German. I am 23 years old and in excellent physical condition. I was a cadet in the Air Force Reserve Officer Training Program while in college from 2003 to 2006 and have three years of AFROTC experience. I am contemplating a commission in the Army National Guard, preferably under a pilot MOS but I would be flexible if there was a possibility I could direct commission. While I was in AFROTC I qualified on my AFOQT for Navigator and Pilot, passed my DODMERB, and I scored among the top in my Detachment in terms of physical fitness on the PFT. Is there a possibility that I could direct commission or would I have to go through OCS for sure? Thanks for your assistance in advance. [/SIZE][/FONT]

Just my somewhat educated guess .... but unless your an ordained minister, a doctor/nurse, a dentist, or a lawyer - you'll be heading to the 18-mo OCS with the rest of us. With your AFROTC, however, you "may" be able to get in AOCS.

Comment

You can go for a direct commission, but I would suggest the Accelerated OCS option. Approx 8 weeks, then you are done. We had people with no prior service do well in AOCS, so no worries that you don't have Army experience.

Comment

There are two categories of direct appointment: special branch (e.g., chaplain, medical, JAG; that's not what you're after, obviously), and basic branch (e.g., all the warfighting branches). Basic branch direct appointment isn't a realistic option, because in your situation it would take longer than OCS, and would be much more dicey. I recommend OCS in your case. PM me if you want to pursue this further.

Comment