X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Road to Becoming a JAG officer

I recently joined the Army NG and ROTC and I'm fired up about the whole thing. I'm studying Political Science at my university and hope to go onto law school, and ultimately, join the Army JAG.

Just as a question to more experienced soldiers out there, what are some recommendations you could give me to get going on the right track? I know that JAG isn't a directly commissionable position, so what commission should I take out of ROTC to get the best preparation? How plausible/hard is it to get into the War College law program, as I'd like to do that rather than going to a civilian law school?

Thanks
    PFC Bendure

Your ROTC branch has no relevance to your JAG appointment, so just ask for whatever you want.

I'm not sure what law program you reference, but my spider sense tells me that you may have discovered a course at the War College (which is the preparatory school for colonels and generals) which is a standalone module, and is not a program that grants the JD degree.

Comment

JAG IS a direct commission, unless you go through ROTC while in Law School, whereas you can some way guarantee you branch in the JAG Corps.

Once you get your branch after ROTC, you have to resign your commission in whichever branch you are in in order to receive a JAG Commission. Remember that JAG is a special branch, in which you need a special degree to be a part of that branch.

Also, for JAGs you have to be admitted to the Bar of any state, territory, DC or Puerto Rico. So, you still need to go to a "regular" civilian law school, get your law degree, pass the bar, and then get admitted to the JAG.