X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AGR recruiter

Ive been told that Im pretty much guaranteed a recruiting job, especially if Im willing to relocate to any place in my state. Im single. Can I get some feedback from recruiters. Good and bad experiences. Thanks.

Well its a great job. Like any other it has its ups and downs, But you can call my cell if your interested in talking more.

Comment

I loved being a recruiter, and I miss it. It's not for everyone, but you can have a very fulfilling and rewarding time. I was an officer recruiter, so my experiences are somewhat different than an enlisted recruiter's, but we have a number of commonalities. Since recruiting is based on production (i.e., how many enlistments you have per month), it's in one sense rather simple to judge success and failure. You work to a production goal, not to a timeclock. Thus, if you put in the number you're supposed to put in, no one's really breathing down your neck to see if you're in the office at 0800. I would come in late, leave early, take long lunches -- because I was on top of my game, and was ahead of my mission pretty much all the time. That also meant that sometimes I put in 12 hour days, worked weekends, took work home, etc.

My recommendation to you is to build your network in your area. Our top recruiter for the past two years basically did very little recruiting. He had built a network of people in his area who effectively did all his recruiting for him, passed him the names, and then he did the processing. He was buddies with every high school teacher, scoutmaster, youth pastor, teen hangout restaurant manager, etc., and those people all kept on the lookout for new recruits. Then, when he got a new recruit, he treated the person very professionally, and took excellent care of him/her. That recruit had a good experience, and brought friends to him to enlist. That's the way to do it!