X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Direct Commission/Age Waiver

I am 44 years old and hold BA and MBA degrees. I work as a public sector manager. In 2004, I contacted an Army Cyber Recruiter (after hearing media reports about troop shortages) and inquired as to whether or not I could be of assistance. I was encouraged to apply for a direct commission with AMEDD (Army Reserve) as a Health Services Administrator. I completed all of the paperwork and passed a physical exam at MEPS in October of 2004. My packet was submitted to the commissioning board but, the age waiver was denied.

I am again hearing reports of troop shortages with the National Guard in Louisiana which is where I live. Considering that I hold an MBA and have a lot of management experience, are there any National Guard slots that can be filled through direct commission and have an age waiver process?

H.R. 1815 Section 543 Age change from 39 to 42

I am in a similar positon. I'm 40 and live in Orange County, Ca and have my B.S. Degree from U.S.C. in Business Administration. Each branch of the military can set its own age standard even though Congress has amended our current laws. I don't want to seem like a complainer, but it's like the current situation we are now facing with our boarders and immigration-meaning, no one wants to act on the discrepancies and make them make sense. I need to stay out of politics. Sorry if I've offended anyone. I am just trying to serve my country.

H.R.1815 SEC. 543. INCREASE MAXIMUM AGE FOR ENLISTMENT.
    Section 505(a) of title 10, United States Code, is amended by striking `thirty-five years of age' and inserting `forty-two years of age'.

Comment