X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WO options for civilian

I just turned 32. I have over 10+ years of information technology experience. I do not have a college degree (but perhaps three semesters credit), though it has not impeded senior promotions in my professional career. I am an exception I suppose. Justified or not (and if not, please help assauge), a major obstacle in joining is my aversion to the enlisted rank. Indeed it prevents me from talking to a recruiter for fear of insulting someone.

I want to serve. The Warrant Officer corps greatly appeals to me. Is this a realistic option for me? Is it an option at all? Are my objections to enlisting and being a private with my age and professional experience misplaced?

Also, I live in Oklahoma and though I can find unit listings here, it's been difficult to determine what jobs are needed - enlisted or warrant officer. I'd be willing to explore a variety of MOS options and I'm not opposed to combat service. Field artillery, for example is of great interest to me. MLRS here maybe?

I'm not too far off from your situation. I'm 30, with about 9 years IT experience.

I actually talked to an Officer Strength management recruiter today.

To enlist into a WO program, you have to do aviation... and we're both too old for that. BUT.

If the WO corps interests you, you can enlist for Officer Candidate School. (OCS). (09S Option.) (I'm not sure if you meant that you have three semester credits, or you are shy three semester credits from a degree. So, I'm going to assume you have 3 semester credits shy from a degree, which should put you over the 90 you need for my suggestion...)

Once you complete OCS, you can either accept a commission as a regular officer, (FA is available if your state has arty) or, you can submit a Warrant Officer packet.

Depending on what your area in IT is, you can become a Signal Warrant Officer if there is a slot available.