X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thinking of Joining

I know, I know another thinking of joining post but I figured let me throw my questions into the mix. Here a brief history of myself.

I'm 28 years old, married & at the present time unemployed. I am a HS graduate (1995) and attended a catholic HS that was against joining the any branch of service. No branch of service was allowed to attend any career or college fairs we had. In my senior year of HS, I had talked to my guidance consular about joining the service. Unfortunately I let him and my father talk me out of joining. I didn't even speak to a recruiter, something I regret now. My father had been in the Navy, and was constantly reminding me that would never make it in the service. Back then I had a pretty bad stutter something I have managed to overcome.

Anyway fast forward to the present. I'm interested of joining but once again my family including my wife are against it. I've bounced around from job to job and I'm just getting tired of feeling lost. I figure the service would be good for me and help me get on track in terms of my life and career wise. However trying to tell them that is like speaking to a brick wall. Well I questions I have is:

Has anyone been in the same boat in terms of family against joining?
    How did you convince them?
    Any advice or stories from people around my age about joining?

Thanks for any info and for listening to my rant. I did sign up for more info, so hopefully I get some more answers.

talk to a recruiter..its the best thing you can do.

Comment

your still able to join. the cut off age is 42. talk to a recruiter. about convincing them i dont know. i wish i could give you something to go on but im only 17.

Comment