X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IET, AT/AIT, and College Semesters

When someone signs up for the guard how is training worked around the school year? I have one year of college remaining and would rather not postpone it but am interested in the guard for the tuition assistance.

You can do split-option training or pick a MOS that has training that doesn't go past the Summer.

Comment

You can also, using the same split option mentioned above, go to your basic training during the summer and wait until you graduate to attend your AIT (job specialty training). You have one year from the time you complete your basic before you're required to start your AIT. This option would allow you to choose whatever MOS (specialty) you want without having to consider how long it would take to complete it. You do have a couple of options.

Comment

Split option

I am a returning student and am thinking of joining the guard. I got two years left and since I see that I can split up my basic and AIT I think its do-able without delaying school. I am wondering though if this is done when does my enlistment actually start. Right after basic or after AIT? And can I still get a bonus even if I won't finish AIT for almost two years after enlisting? Can one be deployed without going to AIT? Thanks for any help!
        Jimi
        Last edited by maybe; April 20th, 2006, 04:56 AM.

Comment