X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drilling overseas question and options

I have done some searching with little luck so I thought I would ask.

I am a former active duty Armor officer (with a few years in the GA army national guard as well). I am also a special agent with the federal gov. My last duty assignment with my agency was an emergency essential position so I was forced into the IRR or ING (don't remember), but it was a non-deployable position.

I am no longer at that office and would like to get back into the guard, but now the problem is that I will be spending about half my career overseas with the agency in a new FAO position (3-4 years overseas, 3-4 years in the US, and back and forth).

I have 6 years active and 6 years national guard time. I was forced into a non-deployable status 3 years ago as an O-3 (but the government does not require me to be non-deployable now).

Is service in the Guard going to work? What are my drilling options? I am willing to drill without pay while overseas if necessary. Any advice/information would be great.

Tankerguy

Re: Drilling overseas question and options

I know of a few that when they do get back to the states they make up drills in an STA status and get it all done over a few days of coming in during the week and working with the full timers. I also know of a couple that drill with a random unit overseas but get paid by their assigned unit. This of course is dependant on where overseas you will be and if there are units there. I guess i'm trying to say it can be done but depends on your chain of command on if and how they will okay it being done, there isnt a set standard, at least not one that is typically followed.

Comment

I just came back from serving in Europe where the Army Reserves has units not the Guard.

Comment

Thanks for the advice and info. What is STA?