Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it possible for me to enlist in the Army National Guard?

I was prior service Air Force. I have an honorable discharge; however, my entry code is 2k, separation code jtj.

Is it still possible for me to enlist in the Army National Guard?

Thank you for time.

Re: Is it possible for me to enlist in the Army National Guard?

I'm not finding that code in my reference list. What is the narrative? My educated guess, based on the code series, is that it's an involuntary discharge. I'm guessing that you did something to earn an involuntary discharge.

Comment

Yes, 2K means Formally notified of involuntary separation. JTJ means unsatisfactory performance.

I didn't do anything like use drugs, get into a fight, etc.

Basically, I graduated from the Defense Language Institute at Presidio of Monterey for Korean. I washed out in Intel School. I tried my best, and was reclassified into public affairs. I struggled through, but graduated and was assigned to my first unit.

Basically, things didn't work out. I'm not saying that I'm totally innocent of everything I was accused of. But, despite my best efforts, I was discharged.

That was 13 years ago. I just turned 34. I still have regrets about my military career, and if possible, serving in the National Guard would be a great way to make up for it.

If that's not possible, I'll serve my community in other ways. Thanks for replying back.

Comment

I have heard of JHJ - Army, USMC, USAF Unsuitability (Reason Unknown)/ Unsatisfactory performance.....but never J T J.

Comment

I'm looking at my DD214 right now. I may have been wrong. The form is a little hard to read, but the middle character does appear to be more of an H than a J. Sorry for the confusion.

Comment

Originally posted by hannism View Post
            Yes, 2K means Formally notified of involuntary separation. JTJ means unsatisfactory performance.