X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nervous about OCS

Hey guys. I'm new to the forum and I'm very new to the Guard (I go to MEPS in a week and a half). I graduated college this past spring and so I'm planning on going in as an officer. My plan is to go to BCT in January and then I'll come back for a bit and go to OCS around June if the scheduling works out.

The thing is though is that I've heard a lot of bad things about OCS, specifically that it's very physically challenging. I'm a female but I'm definitely not weak, I've played sports my whole life and I've played professional football for the past 4 years as a linebacker. It's just that me and running are not friends. I've never been fast or good at running. I'm just worried that I'm not going to be able to perform like I need to. Right now I can run a ~9 minute mile and I can run 2.5 miles in about 28 minutes. I've heard that they time you on runs anywhere from 2 miles to 5 miles, and that if you don't make it in the required time, they'll recycle you. I'm hoping that that will change after BCT and that running won't be much of an issue anymore. It also doesn't help that I'm a bit overweight.

Another thing is how long the training is. BCT is 10 weeks, plus 12 weeks for federal OCS, plus another 11 to however many weeks for BOLC-B. Does it really seem that long while you're going through it? And when will I complete BOLC-B? Right after OCS or do I get some time off?

I know I could talk to my recruiter about all of this but I would rather hear it from people that have been there before. Any help??

Re: Nervous about OCS