Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Getting some consternation from my family about ROTC SMP...

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting some consternation from my family about ROTC SMP...

Hey all, I'm a college freshman in ROTC that's looking to go the non scholarship SMP route and go to Basic (or is it OSUT?) this summer as a 19D. I've been researching and studying up on this for the better part of a year now and I'm ready to sign the papers here soon. My family is definitely not on board. They're afraid that I'm going to regret the decision and that I'm going to hate the next chunk of my life because of this. They're also afraid that if I were to get deployed, I'd lose my job. They also say that it's gonna hurt my chances of getting a job in the first place because of the chance of being deployed. On top of this, I'm just receiving general "horror stories" from people in my family. My aunt has said for instance that the guard is looked down upon as a bunch of idiots by the higher ups when you're deployed, that sexual harassment is rampant (I'm a 6'2'' linebacker, I don't think I'll have any issues with that...), and all kinds of other keep away stories.

I'm aware that yes, there will be times when the National Guard will completely ****. I'm sure 12 months in Afghanistan isn't exactly milk and cookies and I'm well aware that I will get shot at, yelled at by officers and the target of many many bad guys.

I don't know what I'm really asking. I know that I'm going to do it anyways, ultimately. I'm 18, it's my decision to make and I feel more than prepared to make this commitment. I guess what I'm asking for is guidance, personal stories, some kind of validation, help, anything?

Re: Getting some consternation from my family about ROTC SMP...

Originally posted by RaiderInBlue47 View Post