X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unconventional path to officer

I want to be a Marine Officer, and I plan on doing it in a rather unique way if I do not get accepted to the Naval Academy or NROTC Scholarship. I am going to enlist in the National Guard, and use state tuition assistance to pay for college while doing College Program NROTC for the first two years and applying to PLC, then taking the commission when I graduate and the National Guard obligation ends. I was considering USMCR but the college benefits would come nowhere near what the National Guard can get and what college costs. I talked to the National Guard and they said I could do the non-scholarship NROTC while enlisted and also the PLC course since it has no obligation. What do you guys think about this plan?

Re: Unconventional path to officer

Have you discussed this with the NROTC commander at your college? I am no expert on the ROTC of the other services, but I know that (1) they have nothing like the SMP program that the ARNG has, and (2) at your junior year they will want to put you under a contract of some kind. I fear that this contract may violate your pre-existing ARNG contract, which would mean that either (a) the Guard will discharge you, losing all your benefits (and may even require paying back some), or (b) the NROTC won't contract you. Legally you cannot serve in two military components at the same time.

This path has some potential dangers. I recommend that you get a formal ruling in writing from your NROTC commander that accepts not only the concept, but your timeline and milestones.

Comment