Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Being an officer and having a civilian job -

Being an officer and having a civilian job -

I hope I'm not re-posting a similar question but I haven't found anything that answers my question yet.

Currently I work as a web developer and I love my career in civilian life, in the Guard life I'm a PFC and work as a mechanic. So here's my question/s:

1. I have 93.5 semester hours of college - will that be acceptable to get commissioned as an officer? I am pretty close to getting my bachelors but after a few changes in my college career I now sit on a lot of credit hours. I heard that you only need 80 semester hours to commission and in order to become Captain you have to have your bachelors. Can someone confirm that?

2. I've always had an interest in becoming an officer. But my fear is that if I go the officer route, I will have to give up my civilian career. Is this true? I really enjoy my civilian career and I've put a lot of effort into getting where I'm at. However I am willing to sacrifice more than what I'm doing now for more of a challenge on the military end of things. I just don't know if the officer route will require a full-time commitment (even in the guard) .

3. If the above two check out, then how do I go about getting commissioned? Who do I talk to? I've already been attached to my unit for a year now but this is the first time I've considered the officer route more seriously. So I want to plug into the right resources.

Thanks everyone for your thoughts!

Re: Being an officer and having a civilian job -

1. Need 60 credit hours to do traditional state OCS, 90 credit hours to do Accelerated OCS, and a degree to do Federal OCS. You need 90 credit hours to commission.