X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SMP, Split Option, and ROTC

Hey, I'm currently a college freshman with 27 credits and I'll pick up 8 more over the summer. I'd like to Air Guard I think, but I was wondering how it would all work out. Ideally, I'd be able to go to BMT summer of 2012, then go back to school for my junior year, and finish at tech school the following summer. However, I know ROTC does some sort of program over the summer for 5 weeks or so... would this conflict with tech school or could I go at a later date?

Basically I'm trying to figure out how to finish college in 4 years, become an officer and get the GI Bill and have my tuition paid for by the Air Guard. Is it just easiest to take a semester off to go to BMT and Tech School, and then do the SMP option? Any advice on the best route and if it's possible to do split option for BMT one summer and tech school the next?

Re: SMP, Split Option, and ROTC

Originally posted by angprospect View Post
    Hey, I'm currently a college freshman with 27 credits and I'll pick up 8 more over the summer. I'd like to Air Guard I think, but I was wondering how it would all work out. Ideally, I'd be able to go to BMT summer of 2012, then go back to school for my junior year, and finish at tech school the following summer. However, I know ROTC does some sort of program over the summer for 5 weeks or so... would this conflict with tech school or could I go at a later date?

Basically I'm trying to figure out how to finish college in 4 years, become an officer and get the GI Bill and have my tuition paid for by the Air Guard. Is it just easiest to take a semester off to go to BMT and Tech School, and then do the SMP option? Any advice on the best route and if it's possible to do split option for BMT one summer and tech school the next?