Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help regarding travel pay

Hi all!

So I'm a student in NY (so I enlisted in the NY ARNG) but live in Ca during the off months. This year, I was trying to get an excuse for AT but was unable to for various reasons. Anywho, I had to report to NY from CA for AT and am wondering whether I can get travel pay for this... I thought I remember hearing about how if you lived more than 60 miles from your unit, it could potentially provide for travel pay.

I'm not dying for travel pay, but wondering if this is an option. I know that some will say I should move to the CA guard for whatever reason, but it's a bit complicated.

Anyways, I would appreciate any help on the issue

Re: Need help regarding travel pay

Originally posted by ryncho View Post
    Hi all!

So I'm a student in NY (so I enlisted in the NY ARNG) but live in Ca during the off months. This year, I was trying to get an excuse for AT but was unable to for various reasons. Anywho, I had to report to NY from CA for AT and am wondering whether I can get travel pay for this... I thought I remember hearing about how if you lived more than 60 miles from your unit, it could potentially provide for travel pay.

I'm not dying for travel pay, but wondering if this is an option. I know that some will say I should move to the CA guard for whatever reason, but it's a bit complicated.

Anyways, I would appreciate any help on the issue
    You will automatically get paid for mileage in your pay from the address listed on your orders to your unit armory. So if you no longer live in NY and have an address in CA and its legitmate, tell your unit you need to update your home address.

Comment

Everyone received mileage payment, but it was from our armory to Ft. Drum, not from CA (which is my home of record/home of residence on record).

I was told that if it was approved, it would go through DTS

Comment