X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Re-UP Options

Im currently a prior service soldier doing the 1 year try it deal in the Ky Guard. When I initially joined I wanted to reclass out of infantry and go intel. I was told by my recruiter that there wasnt any slots in Ky. He and the ops NCO ask me to do this just to see. Well my unit is supposed to go to Iraq. So everything they have offered has had that attached to it. Not that I dont want to deploy, I volunteered for afghanistan, but this unit and the Infantry is no more for me. Is this the end of the road for me? Today at drill, none of my chain of command would even speak to me. Great. Im in great shape, pt around 290ish, pretty good asvab scores. I qualify for most intel jobs. I have 5 months left in the Guard. I sure dont want to hang up the uniform.

Re: Re-UP Options

What is the question? You want to reclass to intel, but don't want to commit to a full contract unless you get intel?

Comment

I will commit to a full contract if I get intel. Thats the only way.

Comment

oh well, not the end of the world for me by no means. i have many other options in life. was just hoping for a guard career.

Comment

Have you spoke with your battalion career counselor? Or maybe the unit or battalion retention NCO? If you want an intel job and it is offered in your state, then getting a new MOS as part of your re-enlistment may be a possibility. Don't give up yet! It's your career, there are alot of things you have to fight for in the National Guard where money can be scarce and the "good ol'e boy" system can run amock. Research and make a few calls. Get in contact with someone from the intell company to find out if they have any available slots. If there are not any available slots to move into then that poses a problem. Also consider promotion, is there going to be room for growth in the intel?

Comment