X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions About Joining

Hello, My name Is George Smith and I'm new to the National Guard fourm. In Dec 18th 2010, I completed my 2-year education at Bryant and Stratton College. My major is Interactive Media Web Design and my overall credits are 63. I wan't to join the NYARNG because I'm from Rochester, NY and I wan't to do something different in my life (and repayment of student loans hanging over my head). Last week I went to the clinic to check my blood pressure and the RN told me that my BP Is a LITTLE high. Question I want to ask you guys are this: 1:Can I qualify for higher jobs 2: Will the GI Bill cover most of my college expenses 3: What are the Blood Pressure Standards for the Army. P.S.: I also completed my GED from Bryant and Stratton College as well (24 credits on Sep 2010). Thanks very much

-George Smith

Completed college as of 18 December 2010.

Will be recieving my college degree effective 3 June 2011

GO GUARD

Re: Questions About Joining

Hello George. Here we go with the skinny on your answers;

1. If by higher jobs, you mean officer jobs, then you can begin a commissioning program with 60 credits, and work your way to becoming a 2LT.
    2. The base GI Bill will not cover your expenses, unless you live very sparsely. However you will have 100% tuition assistance, and you may be eligible for a "kicker" as well as any stipends that you may get for your commissioning program, such as ROTC. This can actually add up to a couple thousand dollars to use for college. After all was said and done, I was able to work all the way through to a bachelor's degree, having only the National Guard as my income, complete with no debt, and have a comfortable cushon to work with.
    3. Acording to the current regulations high blood pressure is defined as; "systolic pressure greater than 140 mmHg and or diastolic pressure greater than 90 mmHg confirmed by