X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reclass MOS in white phase?

Hi everyone, got an interesting situation here.

I'm a white phase 88M interested in reclassing as a 44B. I don't ship until march 20 and am a split training option / potential SMP (I don't have an AIT date scheduled yet).

My case for switching to 44B (Metal Worker) is that I am currently a Welding Engineer major and i would be more useful to my career and to the National Guard as a metal worker. I understand it's not impossible to reclass after spending time in your original MOS, but I'm trying to cut to the chase and do it now.

I don't know how to go about this process and would greatly appreciate any advice. Thanks!

Re: Reclass MOS in white phase?

Talk to your recruiter. Likelihood of success may largely depend on availability of 44Bs in your state.

Comment

Actually, your RSP is more of who you'll need to speak with about this. Chances of this happening are slim to none, but that doesn't mean it is impossible. I get this question all the time from people after they enlist. I'll tell you like I tell them, YOU enlisted into an 88M position, YOU agreed to be an 88M, YOU need to s uck it up and do what YOU commited to do. Trust me, you will be just as useful to the guard as a 88M as you would as a 44B. It doesn't matter what your civilian career is at this point, YOU committed to being an 88M. Also, 44B is probably not an MOS that has a whole lot of vacancies to begin with in most states. If it wasn't offered to you at enlistment, then it is probably because it wasn't available.

Comment

Originally posted by RSP NCO View Post