Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• microdiscectomy & AIT

Hello,
    I am a split option soldier in between basic and AIT.

At basic, I herniated two discs in my lumbar spine. I pushed through the pain and graduated.

From august (basic grad) till now I have seen numerous doctors, epidermal shots, physical therapy, and last week I had a Microdiscectomy done on L5-S1.

I still have a huge amount of pain, enough to where I cannot do PT or a PT Test. I can hardly walk up and down stairs.

The doctor and several other people i have talked to, who have had the same surgery, have told me that I will have this pain for 6weeks to 2 years.

Problem is, I ship to AIT in June. Im afraid that if I ship, I wont be able to complete the PT or PT tests given in AIT, and will result in getting myself discharged.

What are my options?

Re: microdiscectomy & AIT

If you have had all of this work done then you'd have to be cleared by your doctor in order for you to ship to AIT anyways. From what you are saying it doesn't sound like that would happen. You need to tell your RSP what is going on ASAP. I'm guessing they are already in the loop since you can't do PT, but they need to know that you realistically probably wont be shippping out in June. If you are not cleared to ship by at least 2 months prior to your ship date(April if you ship in June), then your RSP will have to push your ship date back a few months. If in the next few months the doctor doesnt clear you then eventually you will be discharged.

Comment

I will get the clearance or no-go from my doctor ASAP.

and just curious, what kind of discharge would it be? Medical?
      I love the military and want to stay in, but if for some reason I get discharged, I want it to not be dishonerable.

Comment

a quick update for anyone interested or anyone that would like to share some more info for me.