X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Split Op. training

I am considering doing the split training option where you do basic during the summer and AIT the next. Im thinking about doing this because I am a college student and the training will not finish in time for the next semester. I want to know the advantages and disadvantages of doing this. I also want to know what Ill be doing at my drill weekends if I go with this option. Thank you in advance.

Re: Split Op. training

Obviously the advantage is that you can do it and not have to take any time off of school. I am doing split op. I leave for BCT in about 60 days and then go back for my last year of college, then AIT.

How much more college do you have left? There is one big disadvantage for me. I qualify for the G.I. Bill and the Kicker. You don't start receiving that money until after AIT though and I don't do AIT until after I graduate from college, but I have to be a full time student to receive that money. So unless I go to grad school, I wont be getting any money from the G.I. Bill or the kicker even though it's in my contract. But if you still have plenty of school left then you will still get your chance to get that money.