Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 8 Year Commitment?

I am a current law student in ROTC.

1) I understand that I can complete my commitment by serving 4 years Active + 4 years IRR/Reserve/NG, correct?

2) I assume that if I go Reserve I cannot split it with anything other type of duty and must serve 8 years in the Reserves, correct?

3) Is there any way to build up a credit of some sort while in the Reserve towards moving to IRR? Like if I get deployed? Or what if I volunteer for 3 or 4 deployments, can I then move to IRR for a certain period?

Thanks again for all your help guys, you all are awesome.

Re: 8 Year Commitment?

I'm no officer but heres how I think things work for everyone.

You will have an 8 year contract no matter what, but you will only sign up for x number of years in whatever form you choose to go into, everything left over after (8-x)= IRR. Unless you choose to switch to the NG or reserves.

Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, but that's how it went for my first 8 years...

Comment

I also have a question somewhat along these lines... The educational benefits are what really brought me to the national guard as my military branch of choice at the moment. My ultimate goal is to be able to pay for nursing school through the guard and then go active duty with my nursing degree. Ideally, I'll have my degree sometime in the next 8 years... Would I be able to go from guard to active with an MOS change while I still have time left on my contract? Or would I need to finish it out and then re-enlist as prior service with a regular army recruiter?

Comment