Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

How should I tell my parents I'm enlisting?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How should I tell my parents I'm enlisting?

I am a 18-year-old, Asian American, female, freshman Criminal Justice major at Michigan State University and (after extensive research and questioning) I've decided that I want to join the National Guard. (Ironically, the year I was applying to colleges, they had come up to me and asked if I wanted to apply to West Point because my aunt knew someone who could get me in. I actually considered it and researched West Point, but when I told them that I'd have to serve for an amount of years after I graduated from West Point, they agreed that it was a serious commitment and told me they'd rather have me go to a 'normal' college.)

I've already talked to a recruiter, filled out my enlistment application online and consented to a background check. (Which my Marine friend jokingly says is the first step to selling my soul to the government.)

I will return to campus the first weekend of January and talk to the local recruiter about setting a date to take the ASVAB. I plan to talk to my parents once I get my ASVAB scores.

I will join the National Guard regardless of whether my parents support my decision or not, but I honestly would love to have their support in what I'm about to do.

The thing is, they've had this idea of me eventually studying abroad in Hong Kong, because they want me to develop my Cantonese, or Chinese in general. They believe it will help me in the long run. In other words, they expect me to take over their import/export company in the future. (It's based mainly in China.)

I don't know how to tell them that I may have to push studying abroad back a couple years.