X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Entering as E2 or E3 with college credits

I'm a full-time college student, currently with 39 credits under my belt and by the time I would actually ship out I will have 54.
    I have heard that with college credit you may be able to enter as an E2 or E3. Is this true? If so, what number of credits is required for each upgraded level of entry?

Re: Entering as E2 or E3 with college credits

E-2: 24 credits
    E-3: 48 credits
    E-4: Bachelors Degree

Comment

Thanks!
      So, if I earn the additional credits after I enter the guard, am I eligible for a promotion again? Can you move through the ranks after you enlist or do you have to wait a minimum period of time before you are eligible to increase your rank?

Comment

You have to wait a minimum time in service and time in current grade/rank, before being eligible for promotion. The only time your future college credits will apply for promotion is from E-4 to E-5 and beyond. Non-Commissioned Officer promotions are based on a point system.

Enlisted Soldiers have strict guidelines by which they will be promoted and are governed by AR 600-8-19 (Enlisted Promotions and Reductions), Chapters 1, 2, 7, 10, and 11.