Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Swearing in tomorrow! Can't decide on my MOS.

First off, I'm 26, married with 2 kids. I've finally decided to do something I've wanted to do for quite a while now.

I went to meps today and took the asvab, I got a 95 on that so no issues there. I just can't decide for sure what mos I want. According to my recruiter we only have about 6 options available in my area right now. They are 42a 74d 88m 91b 91d 92r. I think my top 2 right now are 92r and 42a, possible 74d. I really don't want to do the others, I've been turning wrenches since I was 10 years old and don't want that as a career anymore. I am 2 months away from my Associates degree in business so that is why I was thinking about the 42a, but not sure thats quite right for me. 92r sounds exciting and being Airborne sounds sexy too. I don't know alot about 74d, we do have a chem unit in my area and I think that's where this position is open. Ideally I would have liked to get into the 35 series but my recruiter said that openings in my area are scarce for that field.

I like to use my intelligence and problem solving skills, so I really don't want something that is just grunt work, no offense to those in different fields, just looking for what suits me best, and what I feel would allow me to be the biggest asset to the Guard that I can. What should I do, can any one with experience in my top 3 chime in before I leave for meps in the morning. I would appreciate it.

Re: Swearing in tomorrow! Can't decide on my MOS.

Think about will this MOS help me in a civilian career?

Comment