X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Army Engineer Regiment-Secondary Career in the Army National Guard

Hello Chaps, I am a student in a pre-apprenticeship program, currently undergoing training in Carpentry, Plumbing, Electrical, and HVAC, and was told this was the place to go to ask questions from a couple classmates of mine.

In the program we do modules that last several weeks (for a total of approx 4 months without work based learning, 6 months with workbased learning) and cover everything from setting the foundation of a building to framing and assembling the walls to the roof, to installing the siding, to installing plumbing systems and fixtures and DWV systems to installing electrical recepticals, light fixtures, air ducts, water heaters, furnaces, etc. And then we branch out into one of the four main programs.

Carpentry, (12 month program)
    Cement Masonry (12 month program)
    Electrical (12 month program)
    Plumbing (9.5 to 12 month progra)
    Overhead LIneman (12 month program)
    Welding (12 month program)
    HVAC (12 month program)

I will be branched out into Plumbing (hopefully) after completion of my Construction Basics (Facilities Maintenance) Course, where I will learn more of the UPC, and even greater in-depth training in Plumbing systems to include water, oil, and gas systems. And full commercial plumbing systems as well as sewage and water source systems, and fuel systems to install, service, and maintain them. (including Utilities)

So with that background in mind, I was looking at a Job Add for a Plumber

http://jobs.nationalguard.com/ngb/di...71.9126&page=2
    After 10 weeks of Basic Training, where you will learn fundamental Soldiering skills, you will attend approximately five weeks of Advanced Individual Training (AIT) where you'll learn what you need to get started as an Army National Guard Plumber.