Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not allowed to make up hours for my civilian job

Hi all,

I've run into a slight problem at my civilian work and wanted to see if there was anything I could do about it?

Right now I work as a Security Supervisor for a company which does security contracts for various commercial, government etc sites. I am contracted for 80 hrs per pay period (2 weeks). If I work more than that, then I am paid over (1.5xbase pay).

I have a regular schedule, although since I am always scheduled to work Saturday and Sunday evenings, I never work those shifts on drill weekends. As such I drop down to 32 hrs/week for those two weeks (the work week runs from Sunday-Saturday). I have offered to work different shifts on different days for those two weeks (so I can get back up to a full 40, and collect both civilian and guard paychecks), however I have been told that it is now company policy that Supervisors are not allowed to work any extra shifts, due to our slightly higher rate. I have offered to work my alternate shifts at the pay for a non-supervisor, but have been told that that is not allowed either.

There are LOADS of open shifts in the schedule, all over the city I work in at different sites, but the company would rather let them be unfilled (and cost them more), than let me help out and work them.

I'm working on finding a "nice" way to resolve this with my employer, as I make slightly less at a drill weekend than I do in my civilian job (I joined the guard primarily for service than anything else) - I was wondering if any of this would fall under my employment rights since I'm now being cut hours due to my military service, and the company refuses to let me make up those hours, even at a lower pay rate?

Thanks in advance for any help!

P.S. I am applying to other jobs, attempting to get more of a Mon-Fri schedule so this won't be a problem, but for now I'm trying to resolve this situation.