X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MOS notification

Is there anyway to be informed when a certain MOS opens up in your state? I really would like to be a 42A Human Resources Assistant but currently there are no openings in my state. I had contacted my local recruiter back in November and he told me then that there were no openings. I just recently contacted him again and he told me there was an opening that was just taken. Kinda frustrating because I really want to get into HR and I dont really want to pick another job just because. I have a Bachelors in Business with a concentration in Human Resources but i never did an internship and have had no luck getting an HR job in the civilian world so I'd really like to get my foot in the door with the Guard. But I also dont know how often to check and I dont want to irritate the recruiter. Thanks.

Re: MOS notification

I wouldn't feel bad calling once every couple of weeks. It's an easy question to answer, and it's your future you're worried about!

Comment

Just so you know...HR in the military would not really probably be anything like an HR internship.

Comment

You should consider 56M it used to be related to 42A, they were in the 90 series. They are very similar, just 56M is more HOOAH.

Comment

Enlist as 11b, take a 42A MOS-T course, ask your COC for a transfer to a 42A slot.

Comment

Originally posted by Squash View Post
            Enlist as 11b, take a 42A MOS-T course, ask your COC for a transfer to a 42A slot.
            You say that as though it's as simple as just asking for a new MOS and then the unit will do it.

Comment

I realize HR in the military is not going to be exactly the same as the civilian world but its a start that I can't seem to get anywhere else. Its that whole never ending cycle of they don't want to hire you unless you have experience but how do you get experience if no one is hiring?

Comment

Internship.................

Comment