Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• College Student Looking For Advice

Hello,
    I am currently a college freshman (18 years old) in my second semester at a community college in New Jersey. I am on pace to earn my 2 year associates degree one semester early, and i am looking at a December 2014 associates degree graduation. I am planning on attending Rutgers University at the beginning of my junior year. I want to use the time i saved by graduating a semester early (January to August) to complete basic training and AIT, hoping to be back in early August. Can i complete basic training and AIT from January to August? My AIT should be no longer than 16 weeks. If i do, can i use my education benefits to pay 100% tuition for Rutgers beginning my junior year at Rutgers? (late August 2015) I am also interested in the SMP program. I understand i need at least a 110 GT score on the ASVAB, what else would i need to do to successfully join the SMP program. Also, does the SMP program still allow you to get 100% tuition paid? because i see it says 4500 per academic school year under the SMP scholarship, but why would you need that if you already got full tuition assistance?

Does this seem like a realistic plan so far?

Any information and sharing of experience is greatly appreciated. Thank you
    Last edited by mikeg035; March 11th, 2014, 10:19 PM.

Seven to Eight months should be more than enough time to knock out Basic & AIT. Once you return from AIT you're eligible for the Montgomery GI Bill. I would contact a NJ Recruiter to find out what State Tuition Assistance is available, I believe they're a State offering 100% TA. The $4500 you're referring to is the Federal TA but you're not eligible to receive that until one year after completion of AIT.